We (well…Mom) did it!

21 Aug

Well, it has been one hundred and eighty days of exclusively pumping breastmilk for E (215 days of pumping/trying to breastfeed)…and I am happy to announce Mom can wean as she has more than enough to make it through E’s first year of life! And now some thoughts from Mom:

After trying anxiously for E’s first five weeks of life to breastfeed naturally (numerous visits from multiple lactation consultants, videos sent to lactation consultants, lots and lots of tears), I (with the support of Ben) decided to exclusviely pump breastmilk for E. It hasn’t been easy, or fun, or really enjoyable at all, but I have finally met my goal of having 3,750 ounces of breastmilk for E. With 149 days til E’s first birthday, I will make it and have some to spare if E keeps up his current intake of milk (with our pediatrician noted his intake may go down with the introduction of additional solids, etc.).

I will hopefully be weaned from the pump by Friday and can’t wait to be able to spend additional time with E, Ben & eddy. I calculate that I have spent about a 360 +  hours (15 days) pumping breastmilk for E and while I mentioned above it has never been fun, I feel great that I was able to do this for E. To all my friends, family and even co-workers who unfortunately know way more about pumping then they probably ever wanted needed to know about pumping, thank you for all your support and encouragement.

Thanks also, to Medela, who swiftly sent me a new Medela Sympthony + when my battery went on the fritz.

Special shout out to my Mom, Dad and Ben who helped me ship my stash from Florida to Marco (not an easy accomplishment, and Fed Ex, I hope you are enjoying your $$$), have moved my stash from our house to Mom and Dad’s and back again with all the crazy power outages the Chicagoland area has had this summer, and especially for the emotional support that I have received — I would not have been able to do this without your support.

Thanks to E for being the best baby ever, and making every drop I pumped worth it (I forgive you for spilling a bottle of the liquid gold at the Traverse City airport while they were testing it for explosives). And while I know you are fascinated with the pump and love pulling on the cords, I think we can both agree life will be a bit better with the pump stashed safely in the closet. 

And especially to Ben who has had to deal with my daily love/hate hate/hate relationship with pumping. I love you more that you will ever know.

As for the milk — cold thoughts for our separate deep freeze freezer — keep on chugging buddy!

4 Responses to “We (well…Mom) did it!”

  1. libby August 21, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    congrats?!

    • Ethan's Mom August 21, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks !! 🙂 see you next weekend!

  2. MHT August 23, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Well done Jess!

Leave a Reply

